I’m Back!

2 Jan

After a hiatus of about two months, I finally worked on the car yesterday.  New Year’s day, I know, but I did it to set the tone for this coming year.  Let’s get this show on the road as soon as possible!  Now, if I could only get those critical parts on time.

Overseas vacation, two bouts with winter colds/flu,  college football season (we’re Cal Bears season ticket holders) and of course my occupation all conspired to keep me away from spending meaningful time with the 914.   So what am I up to now?

Yesterday, I removed the rear window.  It was rattling badly, and  since I need to eventually remove the back firewall pad, anyway,  might as well clean and re-set the window while there’s no motor out back and I have easy access from the front.  After removing the top and side rollbar pads, the window practically popped out by itself.  The old “glue” was so dried out, the pads were the only thing holding it in place.  Today after work I spent an hour or so removing the old butyl residue, and decided that I will repaint the whole area with POR-15 since there’s some spots with surface rust.  I also removed the 2 rear targa latches because one is broken, and the other needs to be reconditioned.  Translation: rust removal and repainting.  I bought 2 replacement clips from a guy in Florida who was parting out his 914, and they also need reconditioning.  I’ll work on these the next couple of days, and paint them in the weekend.  I’ll also flip the two (+) battery cables from the rear to the front trunk, where the auxiliary battery will be located.  Might as well do this now while I have access to the center tunnel!

7 Responses to “I’m Back!”

  1. Karl Kraft January 9, 2007 at 8:35 pm #

    Looks really good. Seems like you have a really clean platform. How was the service at elctroauto.com? I have a 1972 914 and I am interested in doing this conversion.

  2. Jim January 11, 2007 at 2:27 pm #

    Kar, in one word, SLOW.

  3. check this out April 4, 2013 at 1:31 am #

    You should most certainly do a 2nd part to this information.
    Many of us have unanswered questions and we absolutely would like you to answer them for us, am I
    right men?

  4. Louis Vuitton Handbags June 11, 2014 at 4:04 am #

    Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.
    I will always bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice afternoon!

  5. Beats By Dr Dre June 11, 2014 at 7:50 pm #

    I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or weblog posts
    in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website.
    Reading this information So i’m happy to convey that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out
    just what I needed. I such a lot undoubtedly will make sure to
    don?t put out of your mind this web site and give it a glance regularly.

  6. Louis Vuitton Handbags July 1, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but
    after browsing through many of the articles I realized
    it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  7. Christian Louboutin Shoes October 2, 2014 at 5:20 pm #

    Simply want to say your article is as surprising.
    The clearness in your post is just nice and i could assume you’re an expert
    on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

