More Delays

7 Feb

It seems like a never ending story, but more important things keep me from spending more time on this project.  Maybe soon, real soon …

 Since the last post I’ve restored the back window, flipped the power cords from the rear to the front trunk, and exposed the rear wiring harnesses.  Hooked up the old 12V battery to the power cords, and was able to get the headlights and turn signal to work.  From pre-conversion I know I’ve got a “sticky” dimmer switch, and the wipers and horn don’t work, either.  These may or may not be that easy to fix, but since I don’t really need these to get this car rolling, I’ll put postpone this for later.

I’ve started to clean the transmission casing, and took a hard look at the clutch parts.    I’ll have to consult an “expert” to see if I’ll need a new clutch disk or pressure plate.  It was reasonably OK  while running the original engine, and I don’t think the electric motor will exert as much strain on it.  You see, the electric motor doesn’t “spin” while the car is stopped and your foot is off the accelerator.

3 Responses to “More Delays”

  1. Tim K March 20, 2007 at 8:33 pm #

    Thanks for the great 914ev blog. Would you be willing to put a link to my 914ev blog under your Electric Vehicle menu on the right?
    914ev.blogspot.com

    Have fun with the conversion!
    Tim

  2. Derek June 8, 2007 at 6:10 pm #

    Hi,

    I am doing the math for converting my Porsche 924. Can you tell me what (all by itself) your complete electric engine conversion weight is.

    In other words, you noted that when you started your car weighed in at 2,075 lbs with the ICE. So, with that now removed and your electric motor in place, what is (or expected to be) your total vehicle weight?

    I’m trying to do some power to weight comparisons so I can research the best battery and motor combination.

    Thanks in advance.

  3. electric914 June 28, 2007 at 8:47 pm #

    Derek,

    One of the first things I’ll do when I get this show on the road is to drive to the vehicle scale across town. As of now, my best estimate is 2,900 lbs. But that’s a SWAG, scientific wild ass guess.

Leave a Reply

